The French Town in Shanghai (former Shanghai French Concession), the city's most stylish side, is the area of Shanghai that was established for the French government to administer from 1849 until 1946, which progressively expanded in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. For much of the 20th century, this area, with tree-lined avenues and the many fine graceful western houses, remained the premier residential and retail district of Shanghai, and was also one of the centres of Catholicism in China. Despite re-development over the last few decades, the area retains a distinct character, and is a popular tourist destination. People walking in this area would indulge in the air of the "Paris of the East". In particular, the many wrought iron fences and stair railings will look familiar to anyone who knows Paris or Montreal.
This area has been a fashionable area for well over a century and is now very developed as well. Many of the charming older buildings — even whole neighbourhoods — have been renovated and imagined. There are a huge number of boutiques, galleries, bars and cafes scattered through the area. The low-rise, villa-lined leafy backstreets are perfectly geared to shopping, dining and entertainment, but a brood of museums makes the former concession – now a handsome melange of several distinct neighbourhoods – a cultural experience as well.
The French Concession was established on 6 April 1849, when the French Consul to Shanghai, Charles de Montigny, obtained a proclamation from Lin Kouei, the Circuit Intendant (Tao-tai/Daotai, effectively governor) of Shanghai, which conceded certain territory for a French settlement. It came to an end in 1943 when the Vichy French government signed it over to the pro-Japanese puppet government in Nanking. But officially return to China central government in 1946 after 2nd World War.
From 1914 when the last extension of the French Concession was make until its abolition, the French Concession covered the north-eastern part of today's Xuhui District and the western part of Huangpu District (the former Luwan District), occupying the centre, south, and west of urban Shanghai. A small strip extended eastward along the Rue Du Consulat, now the East Jinling Road, to the Quai de France, now East-2 Zhongshan Road, which runs along the Huangpu River to the south of the Bund.
The south-eastern part of it wraps around the walled Chinese city (bounded by the current Renmin Road). To the north was the British concession, later part of the Shanghai International Settlement. The British and French quarters were separated by several canals: in the east, this was "Yangjingbang", a creek flowing into the Huangpu River. These canals were later filled in and became Avenue Edward VII in the east and Avenue Foch in the west, both now part of Yan'an Road. To the south the French Concession was bounded by the Zhaojiabang Creek (now filled in as Zhaojiabang Road and Xujiahui Road).To the west was bounded by Avenue Haig (now Huashan Road). But the French Concession authorities could control large lands extending outside their formal concessions, such as Zi-ka-wei area (now Xujiahui area, the origin of the Catholic culture in Shanghai, and even called Oriental Vatican), because according to the agreement between Chinese and French government, the concession can control the "extra-settlement roads" which were built by the concession government although the roads were outside the concession.
Some charming leafy streets, boulevards deserving to stroll on:
(Generally from west to east)
Middle Huaihai Road
Built in 1901，named in 1915 as Avenue Joffre to honor the French general Joseph Joffre, who visited Shanghai and attended an official renaming ceremony in 1922. This is the main boulevard stretching across the French Concession in an east-west direction and also the most famous elegant French style shopping and residential road in China. Avenue Joffre was a tram route at that time. Its eastern section featured Shikumen residences (now part of it converted to the famous Xintiandi area). Its western part featured high-end residential developments, including standalone houses and apartment blocks. The central section was – and is – a vibrant popular shopping area, with many shops opened by the Russian community during the concession period. Now the total road and its surroundings remains the high-end retail district.
(old name Route Ferguson after Mr. John Calvin Ferguson, an American Missionary and 1st official president of Nanyang College (the current Jiaotong University)). This 1.17km long street was built by Mr. Johan Ferguson to improve the traffic condition of Nanyang College. In 1914, the French Concession expanded to here. Now it is one of the most famous elegant Platanus trees-lined streets in the former French Concession clustered with many upmarket charming western style villas and apartments, discreet but famous cafes and restaurants, trendy tucked-away boutiques. This narrow road is much popular in autumn when the golden leaves cover the ground. There are 14 outstanding historical buildings, 37 preserved historic buildings on this road. On 11 June 2011, Wukang Road was promulgated as the 3rd batch of China Famous Historical and Cultural Road by the Ministry of Culture and the State Administration of Cultural Heritage.
Old name: Route A.Charles Culty, named after the British ambassador to China, built between 1918-1921, a 1025m long peaceful sylvan villa-lined road.
West Fuxing Road
Old name: Route Gustare de Boissenzon, the main road in the area, leafy and villa lined, with some celebrities former residences. This west – east road, built in 1914, is 1043m long and 18.5m wide. The name of this road is after a French soilder Gustare de Boissenzon (1891-1917) who once stayed in Shanghai and died at the Battle of Verdun. He was awarded the Military Cross for gallantry in 1916 – the most famous military medal in France.
But another record said the name of this road is after the general engineer of the Municipal Administrative Council (conseil d’administration municipale) who is in charge of the road building in the concession.
Old name Route Mgr.Maresca. This tree & villa-lined Road is totally 820m long and 15-17m wide. It was built before 1925 and named after Mr. F.Xavier Maresca, the bishop of Nanjing Parish of Catholic Church (1849-1855).
Old name: Rue Ratard, 2290m long and built in 1907, this is mainly a residence road, famous buildings includes 675-681Liu Jisheng’s Residence (Now used by Shanghai Writers Association, add: 675-681 Julu Raod), Residence for the staff of the Asiatic Petroleum Co. (Add: 888 Julu Road, designed by Mr. Laszlo Hudec, the most famous architect in the colonial period in Shanghai), Jinghua New Village (Add: 820Julu Road). But now some old houses were renovated to trendy boutique store, bar, cafe and restaurants.
Old Name: Rue Bourgeat, 3327m long and built in 1914. It is named after a famous Barrister in The French Concession Mixed Court, Mr. Bourgeat, who came to China in 1906. He was also the founder of French Courses and the president of it. Mr. Bourgeat came back to France to join the 1st World War, injured in the battle of the Somme and died soon after it. This is why this road was named after him. There are many celebrities’ residence houses and grand buildings on this road, such as Lyceum Theatre (now the archetype of it is still in London, the London Lyceum Theatre was built in 1834), Jinjiang Hotel (a famous art-deco old skyscraper apartment building), former residence of Mr. Pan Mingxun (1867-1939) a business man and a also famous ancient book collector (add: 660 Changle Road, now it is a dental hospital), Liuyuan Garden (Lane 672, Changle Road), Changle New Village (Lane 764 Changle Road), former residence of Mr. Zhou Fohai (add. 770 Changle Road) who was a very high official at that time, former residence of Mr. Rong Desheng (Add. 1242 Changle Road) who was one of the most famous entrepreneurs in China.
Middle Wulumuqi Road
Old name: Route Alfred Magy. It was built in 1911, around 880m long and 12-27m wide, a north-south tree & villa lined road, there are many foreign consulate villas and a small garden near the crossroads of Middle Wulumuqi Road, Middle Huaihai Road and West Fuxing Road. The statue of Mr. Nie Er (1912－1935), the composer of the China National Anthem, stands at the east end in the triangle garden.
Old name Route Henri Riviere, built in 1913. It is 500m long and named after the name of French naval commander Mr. Henri Riviere. Mr. Henri Riviere is famous on the conflict of the Red River free trade problem between France and Vietnam in 1881. In next year, Mr. Henri Riviere occupied Hanoi. The Hanoi governor Mr. Huang Yao was defeated and committed suicide. Riviere died on 19 May 1883 in the battle near Hanoi against the Chinese reinforcement - Black Flag Army. Now Taojiang Road is packed with trendy charming bars, cafes, restaurants.
Old name Route Francis Garnier, built in 1913. It is 400m long and 11.5-12.4m wide and named after the name of French Consul General at that time. The Elementary School and Middle School affiliated to Shanghai Conservatory of Music is on this road. The French style Villa of Masonry structure to the west inside the entrance of the school is the bridal chamber for Chiang Kai-shek (31 Oct 1887 – 5 Apr 1975) and Song May-ling (5 Mar 1897 – 24 Oct 2003) – the president of the Republic of China and his wife. They got married on 1 Dec 1927. It was built in 1916, extended in 1928 and 1932. Originally it is owned by the manager of a German company which was one of the first 5 foreign companies in Shanghai. It was bought by Song’s family as the dowry of Song May-ling. Chiang Kai-shek named it as “Love House”. There are many grand villas on the road, include the residence of the former president of the Bank of China. Now it was converted to a famous restaurant – Xi’s Family Garden. The statue of Pushkin located in the little garden at the intersection of Taojiang Road, Dongping Road, Fenyang Road and Yueyang Road.
Old name Route Pichon, was built in 1902. It is 815m long and named after the French Minister in China. There are some celebrities villas on this road, include the Former Residence of Pai Chung-hsi (He is the Defense Minister at that time. now the Japanese food restaurant -Ambrosia), the Official Residence of the President of the Municipal Council of French Concession (now the Shanghai arts and Crafts Museum.) and Shanghai Conservatory of Music (Originally the famous Jewish Club).
Middle Fuxing Road
Old name Route Lafayette, together with West Fuxing Road (Old name: Route Gustare de Boissenzon), is the 2nd most important road in the former French Concession, only next to Middle Huaihai Road (old name Avenue Joffre). It was built between 1914 and 1931, and 3494m long, also across the concession from West to East, but most of the estates along the road are villas, townhouse or graceful old apartment buildings, more peaceful, less commercial than Huaihai Road.
Ruijin 2nd Road
Old name Route Pere Robert, was built in 1907 and 1517m long, 15 - 20m wide. Ruijin Hotel (originally Morriss Garden), Ruijin Hospital (Old name: Hospital Sainte-Marie, one of the best hospitals in China) and many old villas are on this road.
Old name Route Victor Emmanuel Ⅲ, built in 1926 and named after the name of a Italian King, only 480m long and 12.3-18.5m wide.). Shaoxing Raod is the famous culture road in China with some state owned publishing companies, and private many famous bars and cafes, including the Cafe Vienna where you can taste the best German meals and cakes in Shanghai.
Middle Jiangguo Road (Route Stanislas Chevalier)
Built in 1902, 588m long and 15 - 17 m wide, named after a Catholic priest in Shanghai. The north entrance of the famous Tianzifang (a maze of tiny alleys crammed full of more than 200 crafts shops, art and photographic studios, boutiques, design studios, galleries, bars, coffee shops and restaurants), the Site of Former French Concession Courthouse, the Site of Former French Concession Police Department or Central Detention House are on this Road.
Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet)
This famous elegant sylvan street was completed in 1914, in the memory of the famous French musician - Massenet (12 May 1842 - 13 Aug 1912) who was a French composer of the Romantic era best known for his operas, of which he wrote more than thirty. The two most frequently staged are Manon (1884) and Werther (1892). He also composed oratorios, ballets, orchestral works, incidental music, piano pieces, songs and other music. Now in 16th arrondissement of Paris (also known as "Arrondissement de Passy"), there is still a same name road.
There are large neighbourhoods of ornate detached garden villas along this romantic street, include Sinan Mansions (Biarritz in Shanghai), Hotel Massenet, elegant three-storeyed Former Residence of General Chou Enlai in Shanghai with a courtyard in the front of it and bamboo fence around it, (Chou Enlai (1898–1976), the first Premier of the People's Republic of China from 1949 until his death on 1976. Chou Enlai stayed in the house during 1946. It was the Shanghai Office of the Delegates of the Communist Party of China in 1946–7.) Shanghai Research Institute of Culture and History (Old name Wallace Residence), a Spanish style garden villa, Brick-and-concrete composite structure.
Route Dollfus for the east part of road between South Chongqing Road and Yandang Road which is named after a French military officer - Dollfus and built in 1902.
And Route Vallon for the west of the road (the main part of this road) between Yandang Road and South Xiangyang Road which is named after a French pilot- Vallon and built in 1912.
It is totally 1690 m long and 14 -15 m wide and packed with town-house neighborhoods, gorgeous villas, art-deco apartments, include Shanghai Science Hall (old name College Francais, Ecole de Franc in French), the statue of Tagore because Tagore once visited his friend Mr.Xu Zhimo, one of the most famous poet and proser in modern China who stayed on this road at that time.
Old name Rue de Camp because the Fuxing Park at the south end of this road was once the French barracks, then changed to Route Voyron), was completed in 1902. It is 290m long and 17.9-21m wide. This is a small colonial air charming street connecting the vibrant Huaihai Road and the verdant tranquil Fuxing Park.
Some charming neighbourhoods and ornate old houses deserving to be visited:
(Generally from east to west)
It is an upmarket, pedestrian only, shopping, eating and entertainment district composed of refurbished or reconstituted traditional early 19th century shikumen ("stone gate") houses, narrow alleys and stone paved courtyards. You could spend some time browsing through book shops, cafes and delis selling French cheese, wines and Mo?t & Chandon, upscale boutiques and restaurants. Most of the cafes and restaurants feature both indoor and outdoor seating. Xintiandi has an active nightlife on weekdays as well as weekends, though romantic settings are more common than loud music and dance places. It is considered one of the first lifestyle centers in China. With the Taiping Lake area right by the side of it, Xintiandi area now is also the most expensive place to live in China, with some apartments costing more than Tokyo, New York and London. It is home to the Chinese elite and top executive expats.
The Shikumen Open House Museum is a museum on the south side of the North Block of Xintiandi on Xingye Road that presents Shanghai life as it was around the 1920s and 30s in a shikumen-style "stone-gate" house. There are about 7 rooms furnished with period furniture. The museum includes a tingzijian, a small triangular room, sometimes rented out at a low price to impoverished writers and others.
Shikumen, means stone gate. The architectural focus of these houses is a front door framed in sometimes elaborately carved stone. The houses themselves – interconnected row houses usually three stories high – are made of brick typical to Shanghai in red and gray.
The style was originally created to house refugees from the Taiping Rebellion who flooded Shanghai from the nearby provinces. It gained in popularity and remained the preferred style until 1980s in Shanghai.
In the south eastern corner of this block is the Site of the First National Congress of the Communist Party of China which has now been preserved as a museum. It is located in the historical shikumen buildings in which the 1st National Congress of the Communist Party of China took place on 23 July in 1921. The museum houses exhibits about the history of China and Shanghai and the foundation of the CPC.
Entry is free.
At the south end of Xing’an Road near Middle Huaihai Road, Occuping76,866 s.m., Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden) is the most famous French style park, reputedly the only one well protected old French style park in China. The 1st stage project of park building was completed in June 1909, and the expansion Project completed in 1926, once the largest park in Shanghai. The 1st stage project was designed by French horticulturist Papot.The expansion project was mainly designed by French horticulturist Jousseaume. A young Chinese garden designer Mr.Yu Xiling (郁锡麒 in Chinese) also joined the expansion project. Because of his insistence, a very charming Chinese style garden corner with a lotus lake and a rockery appeared in the southwest of the park. The park, about 10 ha. in size, has more than 170 kinds of plants, and a large lawn, a lake, fountains, covered pavilions, flowerbeds, a Children’s Playground with a merry-go-around and so on. The French style sunken flower bed in the middle of this park is the most famous feature in the park. During the 2nd world war period, in order to save the animals in the Shanghai Zoo, there is a little zoo established in the park to feed the animals from Shanghai Zoo.
Now in early morning, the park fills with dancers, card players, mahjong enthusiasts, and tai chi solo and group artists. According to Time magazine's Hannah Beech, it is one of the must-see sights in Shanghai.
Walking in the area just beyond the southern boundaries of Fuxing Park feels almost like walking through a backstreet of London. While Xiangshan Road at the west side of it leads to the always-chaotic Huaihai Road, this area is a picture of serenity.
The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-sen (1866–1925), the founder and 1st president of The Republic of China.
Sun Yat-sen lived in this house from 1918 with his wife Soong Ching-ling. After his death, Sun's wife continued to live here until 1937. There is now an exhibition centre presenting Sun Yat-sen's life, together with some artifacts and a statue of Sun Yat-sen outside. You can see things such as an officer’s sword, military maps and pens. In the living room and halls, you can see pictures and hundreds of books. He married his wife in Tokyo, and you can see a picture of them.
The two-story European-style villa covers a floor area of 2500 s.m. It was bought by some overseas Chinese as a gift for Dr Sun to support his revolution and he wrote several books there. Opening to the public in 1988, it is listed as an important historical site and placed under the state's protection.
There is a new museum in a three-story garden villa next to the house. It measures 700 square meters, and it has hundreds of artifacts and mementos that you can see.
Sinan Mansions Area
Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet) was completed in 1914, in the memory of the famous French musician - Massenet (12 May 1842 - 13 Aug 1912) who was a French composer of the Romantic era best known for his operas, of which he wrote more than thirty. The two most frequently staged are Manon (1884) and Werther (1892). He also composed oratorios, ballets, orchestral works, incidental music, piano pieces, songs and other music. Now in 16th arrondissement of Paris (also known as "Arrondissement de Passy"), there is still a same name road.
Further down this quiet picturesque street with pretty buildings and villas on each sides, many elegant detached French style garden villas will appear in front of your eyes. Built in 1920s, this community was designed by French architect and copied from the buildings in Biarritz, a famous beach resort by the side of Atlantic in the south France near Spain. The following is the info of this Biarritz like community.
73 Sinan Road (formerly 107 Rue Massenet), Former Residence of Zhou Enlai in Shanghai. It was the residence of Chou Enlai (1898–1976), the first Premier of the People's Republic of China from 1949 until his death on 1976. Chou Enlai stayed in the house during 1946. It was the Shanghai Office of the Delegates of the Communist Party of China in 1946–7. In 1945 the Communist Party and the Nationalist Party formulated "the guidelines for peaceful country build-up". The representative office was set up by the CPC delegation headed by Comrade Chou En Lai in June 1946 as to carry out the following negotiations and united front work. Under the name of "General Chou En Lai's Residence" (abbreviated to "Sir Zhou's Mansion"), the office was where Comrade Zhou En Lai held a number of press conferences and met with Chinese and foreign friends.
Covering an area of 850 square meters with a courtyard in the front of it and bamboo fence around it, this elegant three-storeyed house was built in the 1920s in French style. The house was listed as a municipal relic in 1959 and became a memorial in 1979. The house is open daily, 9am–5pm, free of charge.
Sinan Mansions is the only one project in the central Shanghai in order to protect acres of villas. With 51 villas built in 1920s in the heart of the former French Concession, almost all kinds of architectures in morden Shanghai can be found in this area, including detached garden villas, veranda style architectures, townhouses with courtyard, townhouse without courtyard. It was a hub of high society where dignitaries, entrepreneurs, professionals and renowned artists frequented and lived. Shanghai Municipal Investment, the developer, spearheaded a $3.5 billion restoration project to revitalize Shanghai’s former glory. The total area covers around 50,000 s.m. The total construction area is around 80,000 s.m. Many luxurious villas have been renovated and reimagined, converted to upscale hotel - Hotel Massenet. Some other villas were converted to cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries.
Facing Taikang Road, Tianzifang a maze of tiny alleys crammed full of more than 200 crafts shops, art and photographic studios, boutiques, design studios, galleries, bars, coffee shops and restaurants where some older residents still live. It is part of Shanghai’s urban renewal project and transformed itself from legacy residential architectures and factories into an artsy area. It is ardently supported by crowds of yuppies, trend setters, designers and expatriates, who fall for temptation of old Shikumen houses (stone-framed-door houses) and lanes with infinite novelties. It is well worth a visit, even if you’re not big on shopping.
The development of Tianzifang is fairly recent. It is also known as Taikang Road which was a back street in Dapuqiao district. The year 1998 is a watershed in Tianzifang’s history. Chen Yifei, one of China's most renowned contemporary artists, took over two abandoned factory buildings in Lane 210, Taikang Road, and converted them into his oil painting, sculpture, fashion and photograph studios. The cross-street sculpture - 'Art Door' designed by Cheng Yifei now stands at the eastern end of Taikang Road, famed as the 'Icon of Taikang Art Street'.
Like Xintiandi, Tianzifang is one of a small number of old Shanghai shikumen buildings. The difference is the vivid live atmosphere stimulated from Tianzifang. The original buildings are still intact, true to the authentic features of the lanes in Shanghai, with Shikumen architecture to the fore. There are over 20 varieties of well-preserved shikumen buildings in Tianzifang, whose types and completeness rank with the best in the city. Many original residents still live in the narrow lanes. Please be mindful and respect their privacy. Both visitors and local residents deserve a respite in these acres.
Tianzifang is a vanguard of creative expressions. Every boutique shines with flashes of wit and creativity with one of a kind handmade novelty items. Tourists from overseas sit outside a café, while inhabitants hurry by. Most old walls are used as panels to exhibit latest elaborate doodles in bright colors. Tianzifang survives the surrounding city demolition by working in art. Its preservation is significant for the city’s cultural heritage.
Ruijin Hotel (originally Morriss Garden)
Located between Ruijin Road,Yongjia Road, South Maoming Road and West Fuxing Road, it is a very large compound with 4 giant British and Spanish villas and spacious British style garden lawn. The No.1 Villa in it was completed in 1917 with a construction area of 1135 s.m. and was owned by Benjamin Morriss.
John Morriss, the father of Benjamin Morriss, took ship to Shanghai from Ireland in1867 at his 17 years old. He is one of the earliest western adventurers in Shanghai, as famous as Hardoon and Sassoon. He made a fortune by betting on racehorse. He was a real estate developer and the owner of French Yiyuan Dogtrack (Le Champ de Courses Francais). He was also the owner of the first and most influential English newspaper in China - the North China Daily News. The real estates developed by him can be found many places in the central Shanghai. His son, Benjamin Morriss, was educated in Britain, was an excellent architect and engineer. He developed his family's business in Shanghai very much. If no Benjamin Morriss, there would be no Shikumen (Stone gate house) - the typical Shanghai style residence house building combined with the features of western townhouse and Chinese courtyard. In 1905, he designed the first New Style Shikumen Lane in Shanghai - Lane 188 Chongqing Road.
The Official Residence of the President of the Municipal Council of French Concession
Add: 79 Fenyang Road. This white French Renaissance Style house was built in 1905. It was designed by Mr. Laszlo Hudec, the most famous architect in the colonial period in Shanghai. Its construction area is 1496 s.m. Because of its colour, it is called as "Little White House in Shanghai". After 1945, it was once used as the first site of Asian and Pacific region Office of World Health Organization. Now it is Shanghai arts and Crafts Museum. The entry is free.
Former Residence of Ke Ling
Add: Room 203, 147 West Fuxing Road, Immovable Cultural Relic Registered in Xuhui District. This Spanish-style residential structure was built in 1933, with gentle slope roof, little extended eaves, yellow stucco coating outer wall. The front facade is decorated with threaded columns and semicircular arch window and door. This building is kind of stranger. This building looks like a villa from outside. But the inner layout is like an apartment building.
Ke Ling (original name Gao Jiling) (1909-2000) is a famous playwright, writer, and critics. On 30 Dec 1945, Ke Ling, with other 25 people in culture domain, set up China Association for Promoting Democracy. He was the director of Shanghai Film Art Research Institute, Vice Chairman of Chinese Writers Association Shanghai Branch, Vice Chairman of China Film Association Shanghai Branch. From 1951 to 2000, he lived in Room 203, 2nd floor here. After died, His residence was converted to a little museum and opened to the public in Mar, 2016.
Entry is free.
The Former Residence of Mr. Zhang Leping
Address: No.3, Lane 288, Wuyuan Road.
Built in 1930s. Covers an area of 261s.m.
Entry is free.
The detached modern style garden villa at the end of a lane on Wuyuan Road is the former residence of Mr. Zhang Leping, the most famous Cartoonist of children in China.
Mr. Zhang Leping (1910.11.10 ～ 1992.9.28) stayed here from June, 1950 to September, 1992. Now this villa has been converted into a museum for Zhamg Leping. As the pioneer of the Chinese children's picture-story books, he once created "The Adventure of San Mao's Enlistment" and "The Adventures of San Mao's Vagrancy", which made him well known as "The Father of San Mao". San Mao means 3 Hairs - a bony boy with only 3 hairs on head, the most famous cartoon figure of children. It was created by Zhang Leping in 1935 in Shanghai.
By the way, Zhang Leping has 7 babies himself stayed in this house.
Former Residence of Bajin
Add: 113 Wukang Road, Built in 1923, it is an European-style detached garden house. Originally it was owned by.
Ba Jin (1904-2005), one of the most renowned Chinese writer, used to live here after 1955. One of his best works including Random Thoughts were written here. The residence opened to the public as a writer's home museum in December 2011. The house contains a collection of books, manuscripts, and photographs. The open hour is from 10:00 to 16:00 Tuesday - Sunday.
Shanghai Old House Art Center and Wukang Road Tourist Information Center (393 Wukang Road)
Add: 393 Wukang Road. The early building was completed in 1912, having neoclassicism architectural style. Its extension which was completed in 1933 has Art Deco style. It served as the residence of Huang Xing (1874-1916) who was the democratic revolutionist in modern ages from 1912-1916.
The northern part of this building was converted to Shanghai Old House Art Center and Wukang Road Tourist Information Center. Tourists can rest and get tour information in this elegant cozy house.